Press Release: Savatage – Still The Orchestra Plays (Greatest Hits Volumes 1 & 2) (2010) artwork, tracklisting and release date announced


On February 26th, Ear Music will release a triple disc (two CDs and one DVD) set from SAVATAGE – Still The Orchestra Plays – Greatest Hits Volume 1 & 2.

The two CDs feature 20 previously released songs as well as three new tracks, recorded last year by Jon Oliva.

The tracklisting is as follows:

CD1: Greatest Hits Vol.1
‘Power Of The Night’
‘Hall Of The Mountain King’
’24 Hours Ago’
‘Gutter Ballet’
‘Summers Rain’
‘When The Crowds Are Gone’
‘Ghost In The Ruins’
‘If I Go Away’
‘NYC Don‘t Mean Nothing’
‘Edge Of Thorns’
‘All That I Bleed’

CD2: Greatest Hits Vol.2
‘Handful Of Rain’
‘One Child’
‘I Am’
‘The Wake Of Magellan’
‘Morphine Child’
Bonus tracks (recorded by Jon Oliva in 2009):
‘Anymore’ (acoustic)
‘Not What You See’ (acoustic)
‘Out On The Streets’ (acoustic)

DVD – Japan Live ‘94
‘Taunting Cobras’
‘Edge Of Thorns’
‘Conversation Piece’
‘Nothing Going On’
‘He Carves His Stone’
‘Jesus Saves’
‘Watching You Fall’
‘Castles Burning’
‘All That I Bleed’
‘Stare Into The Sun’
‘Handful Of Rain’
‘Gutter Ballet’
‘Hall Of The Mountain King’

Video clip of Gene Simmons on CBS television show – I Get That A Lot

There’s a CBS TV show called I Get That A Lot and it’s basically like a Candid Camera type of show with well-known celebrities posing as ordinary people at work. I’m not a big TV guy so I have never seen it but when I saw some news that KISS’ Gene Simmons was going to be on it, I wanted to watch it. Of course I forgot to DVR it! The episode aired on Wednesday 1/6/2010, and thanks to the power of Youtube, here is the clip…..

WANTED: Foreigner – Can’t Slow Down (2009)


Foreigner – Can’t Slow Down (2009)

I know a lot of people see the name Foreigner and all they think of is ballads like ‘I Want To Know What Love Is’ and ‘Waiting For A Girl Like You’ but back in the late ’70s/early ’80s the band put out some seriously crunching Arena Rock. I’m not afraid to admit that I like Classic Rock bands like Styx, Journey, REO Speedwagon and Foreigner…..they were staples on FM radio when I was a kid. I caught Foreigner in concert opening for Def Leppard & Styx back in August 2007 and they were really great live. Lou Gramm has been gone for a few years and founding member Lou Gramm enlisted new singer Kelly Hansen (former Hurricane vocalist) and he really added new life to a lot of old classics. That brings us to 2009 and Foreigner signed an exclusive deal with retail giant Wal-Mart to release their latest album, CAN’T SLOW DOWN. Just like The Eagles, KISS, Journey and AC/DC, Foreigner added 2 bonus discs to the new album: a bonus CD of re-recorded hits and a live DVD. I have passed on this CD a number of times despite all the rave reviews I read online. I hate going into Wal-Mart for anything, 3 out of the last 4 times were to pick up a CD, the 4th to return something right after Christmas. The price is right ($14), the package is a great deal for the price and the reviews all say it’s a great record but I just haven’t gotten around to getting it. The album is readily available at any Wal-Mart so I’m going to have to go into one of them soon and pick this CD up.

Press Release: Bruce Kulick – BK3 (2010) artwork, tracklisting and release dates announced


The North American release date for former KISS guitarist BRUCE KULICK’s new solo album, BK3, has been been bumped up to February 2nd via Fanboy/Rocket Science Ventures. Frontier’s Records will still issue the album in Europe on January 29th.

If you ever play Six Degrees of Bruce Kulick, the former KISS/current GRAND FUNK RAILROAD guitarist’s résumé will keep you happily busy for hours. Having been tapped by artists as diverse as MEAT LOAF and KANYE WEST, the veteran axeman’s boundless creative energy permeates his third solo LP, BK3.

In the works for nearly six years and produced by Jeremy Rubolino, BK3 delivers explosive hard rock arrangements and addictive pop melodies that honor both Kulick’s singular past and bright future. And then there’s the jaw-dropping guest list, boasting members of KISS, THE KNACK, TOTO, MÖTLEY CRÜE and more.

“Bruce was to KISS what Ronnie Wood is to the Stones,” says Rocket Science GM & Fanboy Enterprises A&R executive Ken Gullic. “The new guy to one generation, and the long standing stable horse to another.”

After getting his solo feet wet with 2001’s Audio Dog and 2003’s Transformer, Kulick – the often unheralded driving force on 12 years of classic KISS records, from 1984’s Animalize to 1992’s Revenge – assembled his own rock ‘n’ roll dream team. The roster: KISS icon GENE SIMMONS and up-and-coming son Nick (each vocally appearing separately), longtime friend John Corabi (Mötley Crüe, Kulick’s own UNION), The Knack mainman Doug Fieger, Toto axe authoritarian Steve Lukather, EDGUY power metal stalwart Tobias Sammet and even current KISS drummer Eric Singer.

“Many albums lack cohesion with different vocalists, but I know that my guitar playing is the glue on BK3,” Kulick says. “There was the clear goal of making absolutely the best record that I could put together. I feel like this is my Revenge.”

BK3 tracklisting:
‘Ain’t Gonna Die’ (featuring Gene Simmons)
‘No Friend Of Mine’ (featuring John Corabi)
‘Hand Of The King’ (featuring Nick Simmons)
‘I’ll Survive’
‘Dirty Girl’ (featuring Doug Fieger)
‘Final Mile’
‘I’m The Animal’ (featuring Tobias Sammet, Eric Singer)
‘And I Know’
‘Between The Lines’ (featuring Steve Lukather)
‘Skydome’ (exclusive bonus track for Europe, from the Bruce Kulick CD Audiodog)

Press Release: Dream Evil – In The Night (2010) artwork, tracklisting, release dates & limited edition details announced


Sweden’s DREAM EVIL have revealed the artwork and tracklisting for their new studio album, In The Night.

In The Night was once again produced at Sweden’s Studio Fredman (DIMMU BORGIR, IN FLAMES, HAMMERFALL, etc.), which is owned by Dream Evil axeman Fredrik Nordström, and strikes back with the power of pure steel via Century Media Records .

Official worldwide release dates:
Sweden: January 20th
Germany / Austria / Switzerland / Italy: January 22nd
Benelux / France / Greece / Denmark / Norway / Portugal / Rest Of Europe: January 25th
North America / Spain: January 26th
Finland / Hungary: January 27th
UK: February 1st
North America: January 26th

The album’s artwork was created by Gustavo Sazes (ARCH ENEMY, FIREWIND, KRISIUN, etc.) and the album will be also available as a classy limited edition Mediabook-CD with alternative artwork (see image at left, click to enlarge), expanded booklet and including the special audio bonus tracks ‘Good Nightmare’ and ‘The Return’ as well as an exclusive patch.

In The Night tracklisting:
‘In The Night’
‘Bang Your Head’
‘See The Light’
‘On The Wind’
‘The Ballad’
‘In The Fires Of The Sun’
Mean Machine’
‘Kill, Burn, Be Evil’
‘The Unchosen One’

‘Good Nightmare’ (limited edition bonus track)
‘The Return’ (limited edition bonus track)

Press Release: Blaze Bayley – Promise And Terror (2010) artwork, tracklisting, release date and pre-order information announced


BLAZE BAYLEY’s second studio album, Promise And Terror, will be released on Blaze Bayley Recordings on February 1st and distributed by Plastic Head.

Promise And Terror is available to pre-order from Bayley’s official website only until January 18th, with all pre-orders signed by the band.

The accompanying World tour kicks off at JB’s in Dudley, UK on February 6th. European & South American tour dates have now been confirmed and further dates and countries will be announced shortly.

Promise And Terror tracklisting:

‘Watching The Night Sky’
‘Madness And Sorrow’
‘God Of Speed’
‘City Of Bones’
‘Time To Dare’
‘Surrounded By Sadness’
‘The Trace Of Things That Have No Words’
‘Letting Go Of The World’
‘Comfortable In Darkness’