Saxon – The Inner Sanctum Press Release #2

From SPV:

The rolling thunder can be heard from afar: British metal legends, SAXON, are scheduled to release their latest album, The Inner Sanctum, on March 5, 2007 (Germany: March 2, North America: April 3), proving that they have succeeded yet again in keeping that special place between traditional and contemporary music.

“The Inner Sanctum is a typical Saxon recording that kicks off with gargatum heavy metal tracks, followed by classic rock’n’roll numbers, returning to Metal towards at the end,” vocalist Biff Byford describes his group’s new offering, which features two near 10 Minutes songs, rating the release in Saxon’s history as follows: “I’d say the album is in the style of Lionheart and Metalhead, a number of tracks have a Solid Ball Of Rocktouch, but at the same time the production is very modern.”

The Inner Sanctum will be available in a digipak with Bonus DVD or in a jewel case, including bonus track.

Charlie Bauerfeind was in charge of the driving sound, keeping the typical Saxon elements of each song to incorporate them in a contemporary production. All those who have known Saxon since the Eighties and followed their amazing development will love The Inner Sanctum. The first single lifted from the album will be ‘If I Was You’, available for download from January 20, 2007: a driving metal track that fits in seamlessly among the long list of Saxon classics, increasing still the anticipation of the album.

Five days before the album arrives at the stores, Saxon will embark on their extensive European tour, scheduled to last until mid-May, which will take Biff Byford, Paul Quinn (guitar), Doug Scarratt (guitar), Nibbs Carter (bass) and Nigel Glockler (drums) through England, Ireland, Germany, Spain, France, Portugal, Belgium, the Netherlands, Italy, Greece, Croatia, Poland, Russia, Austria, Sweden and Finland, among others.

Byford has already hinted at his band’s live show, which has been updated as usual: “All those who know us are aware that we always include six to seven new numbers in our track listing when we have a new album to promote.” So all Saxon fans had better mark in their calendars the show nearest them!

The tracklisting for the Limited Editon of The Inner Sanctum is as follows: ‘State Of Grace’, ‘Need For Speed’, ‘Let Me Feel Your Power’, ‘Red Star Falling’, ‘I’ve Got To Rock (To Stay Alive)’, ‘Going Nowhere Fast’, ‘Ashes To Ashes’, ‘Empire Rising’, ‘Atila The Hun’,

Content on Bonus DVD:

A Night Out With The Boys: ‘To Hell And Back Again’, ‘A Night Out With The Boys – The Idea’, ‘A Night Out With The Boys – Not Really’, ‘See The Light Shining’, ‘A Night Out With The Boys – Now It Started’, ‘Redline’,
‘Suzie Hold On’, ‘Stand Up And Be Counted’, ‘Frozen Rainbow’, ‘Never Surrender’,

More details: DVD 5; 2.0 Dolby Digital & 5.1 Audio; Duration approx. 50 min; Code free; Subtitles: German.


There is no way I am waiting a whole month to get the U.S. release when I can get it easily online. I’ll be buying the Limited Edition on pre-order. Can’t wait for this album, 2007 is shaping up to be a good year!