Dio – Holy Diver Live (2006)

Posted: May 30, 2006 in Album Reviews

Dio – Holy Diver Live (2006, Eagle Records)

CD 1
1. Stand Up And Shout
2. Holy Diver
3. Gypsy
4. Caught In The Middle
5. Don’t Talk To Strangers
6. Straight Through The Heart
7. Invisible
8. Rainbow In The Dark
9. Shame On The Night

CD 2
1. Tarot Woman
2. Sign Of The Southern Cross
3. One Night In The City
4. Gates Of Babylon
5. Heaven & Hell
6. Man On The Silver Mountain
7. Long Live Rock’n’Roll
8. We Rock

Dio official website

Ronnie James Dio is a true Heavy Metal icon, one of the greatest singers of our time. I have seen him live multiple times with his solo band, Dio, and his former band, Black Sabbath. The live show has always been a wonderful celebration of Heavy Metal music, showcasing the best of a long career from Rainbow to Sabbath to Dio. With the concert memories fresh in my mind, I have waited to buy this release for about a month because of availability issues (my local shop got 1 copy).

According to the liner notes, the concert took place in London on October 22, 1995…..it was actually 2005 and the culmination of Dio’s worldwide tour for his 2004 album, Master Of The Moon. The actual full performance of the Holy Diver album came after the 3rd song of that night’s set, ‘One Night In The City’. Due to possible editing problems, the album performance was moved to CD 1 and the openers and encores to CD 2. Also, it’s to be noted that Mr. Dio himself has stated in recent interviews that this was a one-time performance, that he will not continue to do a full performance of any of his albums, he would rather try and celebrate his full career during the live shows.

I’ve given this a very close listen and it’s a very good live album, well worth your $15. The Holy Diver performance is top notch and the inclusion of Rainbow and Sabbath standards on CD 2 is a bonus. The Dio shows I’ve seen always have Rainbow and Sabbath songs in the set, maybe a medley rather than full songs. Adding them to the live Holy Diver set is just giving a bonus to the fans. Nothing beats ‘Tarot Woman’ or ‘Gates Of Babylon’ live!

As of this writing, the accompanying DVD release is out today. I will have that as well but I’m not waiting a month!

About these ads
  1. [...] I reviewed the CD version here. The only difference between the two is that the DVD follows the exact setlist, whereas the CD is edited to have the Holy Diver performance first. The concert is superb, just a band playing excellent songs, no extras needed. RJD is backed by a strong band that includes Simon Wright (drums), Doug Aldrich (guitars), Scott Warren (keyboards), and Rudy Sarzo (bass). Add the musicianship to Ronnie's great voice and you get a top notch performance, well worth the 2 hours to watch. [...]

  2. SKM says:

    Love this album. Dio is my favorite all time singer and Rainbow (all eras), Sabbath (80-95) and Dio are my favorite bands.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s